Past Simple, Past Perfect and Present Perfect

1. When I ____________________ (arrive) home last night, I discovered that Jane ____________________ (prepare) a beautiful candlelight dinner.

 

2. Since I began acting, I ____________________ (perform) in two plays, a television commercial and a TV drama. However, I ____________________ (speak, never even) publicly before I came to Hollywood in 1985.

 

3. By the time I got to the office, the meeting ____________________ (begin, already) without me. My boss ____________________ (be) furious with me and I ____________________ (be) fired.

 

4. When I ____________________ (turn) the radio on yesterday, I ____________________ (hear) a song that was popular when I was in high school. I ____________________ (hear, not) the song in years, and it ____________________ (bring) back some great memories.

 

5. Last week, I ____________________ (run) into an ex-girlfriend of mine. We ____________________ (see, not) each other in years, and both of us ____________________ (change) a great deal. I ____________________ (enjoy) talking to her so much that I ____________________ (ask) her out on a date. We are getting together tonight for dinner.

 

6. When Jack ____________________ (enter) the room, I ____________________ (recognize, not) him because he ____________________ (lose) so much weight and ____________________ (grow) a beard. He looked totally different!

 

7. The Maya established a very advanced civilization in the jungles of the Yucatan; however, their culture ____________________ (disappear, virtually) by the time Europeans first ____________________ (arrive) in the New World.

 

8. I ____________________ (do) so many things this week. I ____________________ (be) to the cinema, I ____________________ (visit) old friends and on Monday I ____________________ (even, bake) a cake.

Answers

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://englishvillage.wordpress.com/2011/07/21/past-simple-past-perfect-and-present-perfect/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

