Past Simple or Past Perfect

I can’t believe I _____________________ (get) that apartment. I _____________________ (submit) my application last week, but I didn’t think I had a chance of actually getting it. When I _____________________ (show) up to take a look around, there were at least twenty other people who _____________________ (arrive) before me. Most of them _____________________ (fill, already) out their applications and were already leaving. The landlord said I could still apply, so I did.

 

I _____________________ (try) to fill out the form, but I couldn’t answer half of the questions. They _____________________ (want) me to include references, but I didn’t want to list my previous landlord because I _____________________ (have) some problems with him in the past and I knew he wouldn’t recommend me. I _____________________ (end) up listing my father as a reference.

 

It was total luck that he_____________________ (decide) to give me the apartment. It turns out that the landlord and my father _____________________ (be) at high school together years before. I was really lucky!

 

Answers

 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://englishvillage.wordpress.com/2011/07/20/past-simple-or-past-perfect/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

